Absinthe

2013020517_13600859840751_originalABSINTHE

Among the list of greats who have indulged in Absinthe are Ernest Hemingway, Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec, Pablo Picasso, Vincent van Gogh, Oscar Wilde, Aleister Crowley, and the list continues.

However, my most favorite Absinthe is not French at all, its from the Slovene Alps which draws from an 18th century herbal recipe originating between Paris and Prague.  Absinthe Supreme is 120 proof and quite honestly blows away any of the others I’ve ever had.

I am not an absinthe expert, in fact I’ve only had a handful, but if any of the others tasted like this, I’d be an avid taster.  They say this is perfect for beginners, however, its ironic I’ve discovered this one last.

I’ve found that absinthe in any cocktail, even a few drops, is very overpowering, especially in Champagne for what Hemingway called “Death in the Afternoon” (after his book written about a bullfighter).  I’ve had it in a Corpse Reviver, but honestly, the best way to enjoy this is straight, perhaps chilled or even over a single large ice cube, but I’d never mix it.

Leave a Reply

